You are here: Home Contents Aqua-Hiking Trail The Bitschweil Parcel
Document Actions

The Bitschweil Parcel

by Theresa König last modified 2007-02-16 14:31

Bitschweil Parcel

The Bitschweil Parcel was first mentioned in documents as „Patschwill“in the year 1496.  It originates from the Romanian word “pascuale” which means pasture or mountain meadow.  The meaning of the name leads us to believe that Bitschweil wasn’t permanently settled in the late middle ages, but more likely served as pasture land for the cattle of the farmers from Tschagguns. 
The Bitschweil Parcel lies at an altitude of 1,100 meters above sea level, a good hour’s walk from the centre of Tschagguns.  It can also be reached in the same amount of time by way of the Aqua Hiking Trail and Latschau. 
At the end of the 2nd World War, the last of the inhabitants moved down to the valley.  Of the 22 houses in the parcel, today only two of them are inhabited all year round.
In 1824 the Township of Tschagguns decided to build a school for the children from the remote town of Weiler.  The school house was meant to save the children from having to walk the long, and in winter, dangerous, way to the Kirchdorf in Tschagguns.
In the 19th century and at the beginning of the 20th century the school was closed sporadically or there was change-over classes with the Ziegerberg school.  Sometimes the lessons took place in the farm houses, which was not unusual in the small mountain parcels in those days.
After the Gampadel plant was built in 1924, the school house – the Bitschweiler Schualhüsli” was used as an office.  In 1929 a first year class was taught in the school again.  This tiny school house was the start of the career for many school teachers.
Sometimes there were as many as 30 students at the school and they all had to fit into one 20² meter room where the teacher taught 8 different levels.  It was heated with a Lutz oven and cleaned by the students and teachers.
After the 2nd World War, the number of students steadily decreased so that the school finally had to be closed in 1963.  The town of Tschagguns sold the building to the residents. 
The school house caught the attention of the Federal Monuments Office, who in turn, prompted the town of Tschagguns to by it back from the residents and from the year 2003, to have it restored and placed under a preservation order. 
Today this charming school house comes to life again when students come here for projects, excursions and seminars.  Under the motto: “School like in the olden days”, the students get the chance to experience what it was like to go to school in the past using the old teaching materials and furnishings and learn social studies and history.  Visit the school and let yourself be taken back to an ideal world for children out in the country.


P10-1 Bitschweil Parcel.mp3

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: